Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Prophet's Wife: A Novel of an American Faith

The Prophet's Wife: A Novel of an American Faith

By Libbie Grant

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Format

Eligible for Free Shipping with purchase of $50 + (excludes pre-orders)

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780063070622
  • ISBN10: 0063070626
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
View full details

Description

A lyrical novel exploring the origins of the Mormon faith, RECOMMENDED by the New York Times Book Review.

"Superb... a first-rate historical novel" - The Denver Post

"A masterpiece ... perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks" - Kris Waldherr, author of The Lost History of Dreams

In 1825, in rural Pennsylvania, Emma Hale marries an itinerant treasure-digger, a man who has nothing but a peep-stone in his pocket and a conviction that he can speak directly to God. His name is Joseph Smith and in a few short years, he will found his own religion, gather zealous adherents by the tens of thousands, and fracture Emma's life and faith.

While the Mormon religion finds its feet and runs beyond the grasp of its founder, Emma struggles to maintain her place in Joseph's heart--and in the religion that has become her world. The Mormons make themselves outcasts everywhere they go. Joseph can only maintain his authority by issuing ever-stranger commandments on God's behalf, culminating in an edict that men should marry as many women as they please. The Mormons' adoption of polygamy only sets them further apart, and soon their communities are ravaged by violence at the hands of their outraged fellow Americans. For Emma, things take a more personal toll as Joseph brings in a new wife--a woman whom Emma considers a sister.

Emma knows there will never be peace until Joseph faces the law. But on the half-wild edge of the frontier, he's more likely to find death at the hands of a vigilante posse than a fair trial. For the sake of her people--and her soul--Emma must convince the Prophet of God to surrender... and perhaps to sacrifice his life.

"Probes the emotional maelstrom" - The New York Times Book Review

"Fascinating ... one of the most interesting and nuanced portrayals of a marriage I've read in a very long time ... Brilliant." - Allison Epstein, author of A Tip for the Hangman